Industry-Recognized Credential Assurance Guides (ITAGs)

Collaboration among the Ohio Department of Higher Education (ODHE), the Ohio Department of Education and other key stakeholders led to the development of policies and procedures to create statewide transfer initiatives providing more opportunities for students to advance through career development and further their education. ITAGs are a statewide transfer initiative that guarantee the award of college-level credit to students earning agreed upon industry-recognized credentials. ITAGS are identified by statewide panels and are endorsed by Ohio’s public colleges and universities, they may overlap with other transfer initiatives (CTAGs, MTAGs, and TAGs) but will not replace them. The award of credit is based upon the knowledge, skills, and competencies gained through credential attainment regardless of where the learning to prepare for the credential took place. Students who meet ITAG credentialing requirements receive credit at any public college or university within the state of Ohio.

Industry-Recognized Transfer Articulation Number

To reduce variability in the transfer credit evaluation and application process, a set of college-level learning outcomes is established for each ITAG and has a corresponding articulation number. The learning outcomes, are aligned with applicable third-party program accreditation, credentialing, and/or other industry standards, and are vetted by ITAG panels. All ITAG panels are comprised of postsecondary faculty, industry representatives (as needed), and educators from either Ohio Technical Centers (OTCs) and/or Secondary Career-Technical Centers. Credit for specified courses deemed equivalent by faculty and endorsed by Ohio’s public institutions of higher education will be awarded to students provided the correct steps are taken to receive the credit. Please see the ODHE ITAG webpage for approved courses and for processing instructions.

LPN (Practical Nursing)

NURS-1000 (1 of 5 courses, all must be taken) 1 Cr.
NURS-1010 (2 of 5 courses, all must be taken) 4 Cr.
NURS-1200 (3 of 5 courses, all must be taken) 4 Cr.
NURS-1220 (4 of 5 courses, all must be taken) 5 Cr.
NURS-1240 (5 of 5 courses, all must be taken) 1 Cr.

ServSafe Manager (Safety and Sanitation)

HOSP-1020 2 Cr.

CompTIA Security (Information Technology: Security +)

ITNT-2370 3 Cr.

Cisco Certified Network Associate and Cisco Certified Technician (Information Technology: Networking) 

EET-1303 3 Cr.
EET-2303 3 Cr.
EET-2313 3 Cr.